K. Kreutz & K. Schild receive 2020 Faculty Research Funds Awards; D. Winski receives 2020 Summer Research Award

2020 Faculty Research Fund Awards Announcement

The Faculty Research Fund program aims to support faculty in establishing or maintaining high quality research programs and other creative achievements. Competitions are held annually and funded by the Office of the Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School through a review and nomination process by the Faculty Research Fund Committee.

The 2020 Presidential Research and Creative Achievement and Faculty Research Fund awardees are:

Presidential Research and Creative Achievement Award

Recognizes faculty who have attained distinction in University of Maine’s mission to facilitate the research, scholarship, and creative activity that results in national and international recognition.

Robert Steneck, School of Marine Sciences, Darling Marine Center
Steneck is an internationally recognized marine ecologist whose research expertise ranges from coral reefs and kelp forests to fisheries and marine conservation and management. His Gulf of Maine ecosystem research includes extensive studies of the life histories and habitats of the American lobster

Regular Faculty Research Awards

Assists members of the faculty in establishing or maintaining high quality research programs that will extend the limits of existing knowledge and lead to a tangible final product (e.g., performance, showing, publication, grant proposal, etc.).

  1. Julie Gosse, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences
    “Mechanisms of Cetylpyridinium Chloride Inhibition of Immune Cell Function”
  2. Karl Kreutz, Earth and Climate Sciences
    “Isotope Hydrology in the Penobscot River Watershed: Towards Integrated Water Cycle Monitoring, Analysis, and Research/Education”
  3. Kristin Schild, Earth and Climate Sciences
    “Climate Impacts on the Glaciers of the Southern Patagonia Icefield”
  4. Deborah Saber, Nursing
    “Keeping Maine Safe From Infection: Modeling to Explain Multi-Drug Resistant Organism (MDRO) Activity in Acute Care Maine Hospitals”
  5. Rebecca Buchanan and Tammy Mills, Education
    “Developing a Community of Teacher Leaders Across the Career Span”

Summer Research Awards

Provides $8,000 awards for faculty summer salaries for a minimum of 1.5 months research effort.

  1. Dominic Winski, Earth and Climate Sciences
    “Expanding Arctic Research at the University of Maine through a Collaborative Ice Coring Project”
  2. Joel Anderson, History
    “Coordinating the Crusades in the Medieval North”
  3. Fayeza Ahmed, Psychology
    “Role of Exercise and Genetic Variables on Cognitive and Cerebrovascular Function”
  4. Amanda Olsen, Earth and Climate Sciences
    “Investigating Serpentine Weathering at the Rio Cupeyes NEON Site as a Terrestrial Analog for Mars”