WiSTEMM to recognize Presidential Award winners at Feb. 12 lunch – J. Saros

WiSTEMM (Women in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine) will host a faculty lunch honoring the 2019 Presidential Award winners Feb. 12 at the University of Maine.

Attendees can celebrate and learn from award winners 1–3 p.m. in the Bangor Room of the Memorial Union.

Award recipients are:

  • Distinguished Maine Professor Award — Sandra Caron, professor of family relations and human sexuality in the College of Education and Human Development;
  • Presidential Research and Creative Achievement Award — Jasmine Saros, professor of paleolimnology and lake ecology in the School of Biology and Ecology and Climate Change Institute;
  • Presidential Public Service Achievement Award — Susan McKay, founding director of the Maine Center for Research in STEM Education (RiSE Center) and professor of physics;
  • Presidential Outstanding Teaching Award — Jennifer Tyne, lecturer of mathematics in the School of Mathematics and Statistics.