Skip to main content

Climate Change Institute

Harold W Borns Symposium

The Harold W. Borns, Jr. Symposium is an annual event that features presentations and discussion by Climate Change Institute graduate students and faculty on emerging research and topics related to global environmental change.   


View Harold W. Borns Jr. Symposium Abstracts (1993 - 2014)


2015 Harold W. Borns, Jr. Symposium

Save the Date!   April 9 - 10, 2015 - Stodder Hall, University of Maine

 Additional information re: 2015 Borns Symposium will be available in the near future.

2014 Harold W. Borns, Jr. Symposium

2014 Borns Symposium Postcard
2014 Borns Symposium Schedule
2014 Submission Guidelines
2014 MiniPaper Template (MS Word)

Live Streaming:  Please contact Betty Lee ( or Rebecca Addessi ( for live streaming directions.

David Clayton Smith Lecture - Pauleena MacDougall (Director, Maine Folklife Center)
UMaine Alumni Lectures - Heather McInnis (Senior Program Associate, Research Competitiveness Program, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Erich Osterberg (Department of Earth Sciences, Dartmouth College).

Award Winners

The Churchill Award for Outstanding Exploration (2014)
Walter Isle Beckwith
Charles I. Rodda
Harold W. Borns Symposium - Best Presentation Award (2014)
1st Place:  Katharine J. Ruskin
2nd Place:  Samuel L. Belknap III
3rd Place:  Jennifer R. Lennon
Student Outstanding Service Award (2014)
Seth W.Campbell

Conference Photos

2014 Photos
2011 Photos
2010 Photos
Professor David Clayton Smith: A Retrospective Poster

© 2015 Climate Change Institute • University of Maine
Orono, ME 04469-5790 • Tel: 207-581-2190 • Fax: 207-581-1203
The University of Maine
Climate Change Institute UMaine